TEFL Canary Islands Canary Islands

The Canary Islands are comprised of two provinces: Las Palmas and Tenerife, spread out over seven large islands and several smaller ones.

TEFL Canary Islands The province of Santa Cruz de Tenerife consists of four of the larger islands, namely Tenerife, La Gomera, El Hierro and La Palma.

Tenerife is the largest of all the islands and, with a resident population of over 800,000, it is also the island with the highest population. The island's (and the province's) capital is Santa Cruz de Tenerife.

TEFL Canary IslandsThe province of Las Palmas consists of three of the larger islands (Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura and Lanzarote), as well as several smaller islands, including Alegranza, Graciosa, Monta–a Clara, Lobos, Roque del Este and Roque del Oeste. Like the island of Tenerife, Gran Canaria has a population of just over 800,000. Fuerteventura, meanwhile, is the second biggest island in the Canaries.

Synonymous with good weather, the Canaries enjoy a climate which varies from very dry to wet and mild. It's no wonder that approximately 10 million tourists visit the islands annually. Indeed, tourism represents over 30% of the islands' gross domestic product and can be seen almost everywhere.

The islands aren't just about sunshine and sandy beaches, however. There are lots of other things to see and do. TEFL Canary IslandsOf the thirteen national parks in Spain, for instance, four are located in the Canary Islands.

The architectural heritage of the islands is also quite remarkable. In the glorious days TEFL Canary Islandsof the Spanish Empire, many palaces and churches were built on the island of La Palma, for instance. The Church of El Salvador is an excellent example of 16th century architecture and one of many reminders throughout the islands of another era.

With daily flights to the mainland, and discounts for residents, travel couldn't be simpler. That is, of course, if you ever want to leave!


Search again

Location Directory